San Patricio

For St. Patrick’s Day, I worked with 1st, 2nd, 3rd grade, and 4th grade.

Total lesson times: 3o minutes | Total prep time: 10 minutes


In 1st grade…

We worked with this printable I pulled from Mommy Maestra’s teaching blog and TPT account.

I introduced the vocabulary by showing it to them and going over the pronunciation. I then described it for them and asked them to say the word in Spanish. Finally, I would say the word in Spanish and asked them to recognize it by telling me what it meant in English.

PDF Link: Spanish St. Patrick’s Day Printables


In 2nd grade…

We started by identifying our green clothing: camisa, chaqueta, falda, and plural clothing items: pantalones, zapatos, calcetines. 

They drew 4 leaf clovers on one side of the green paper. In each leaf, they write an article of green clothing. This was to assess their comprehension of adjective placement in Spanish, as well as the noun-adjective agreement with singular and plural.

While I checked their work, I asked that they draw a leprechaun on the other side of their green paper. This gave something more time intensive to do for my early finishers.

After they were all finished, I wrote, “Si yo fuera un duende, sería…” on the board. We talked about what adjectives they would use to describe a leprechaun (un duende). They came up with fortunado/a, rapido/a, mágico/a, travieso/a, pequeño/a. 

I asked them to write a sentence with at least 2 adjectives. Their final product looked like the picture above, and the examples below.


In 3rd grade…

We also reviewed clothing in Spanish. After they told me what green clothing they were wearing as a warm up, we played “I have ___, who has ___” (Yo tengo ___, quien tiene ___).

  • Pregunta:¿Qué ropa verde tienes?
  • Respuesta: Mi camisa es verde/Mis pantalones son verdes.  

PDF Link: IHaveWhoHasSpanishStPatricksDayVocabularyGameFREE


In 4th grade…

We talked about what adjectives they would use to describe a leprechaun (un duende). They came up with fortunado/a, rapido/a, mágico/a, travieso/a, pequeño/a, deportivo/a. I wrote, “Si yo fuera un duende, sería…” on the board. For their warm up question, I asked them to complete the sentence.

We also read an article from Newsela.com on St. Patrick’s Day in Spanish.

PDF Link: SanPatricio

Leave a Reply

